Maria Duenas

1st Prize
15 years, Spain

Born in Granada, Spain, the 15-year-old violinist is a student of Prof. Boris Kuschnir in the Music and Arts University in Vienna as well as the Art and Music University in Graz.

The 1st Prize in the Senior Division in the Yankelevich International Competition (Russia), 1st Prize in the Zhuhai Mozart International Competition 2017 (China), Grand Prix in the 14th International George Philip Telemann Competition (Poland) together with the special award for the best sonata performance, the absolute Prize in the International «Young Musician» Competition in Treviso (Italy), award in the 24th and 25th Competition of the German Fund of Musical Instruments in Hamburg (Germany), the Prinz von  Hessen Award 2017 (Kronberg) to the youngest violinist with the greatest development potential, the 1st Prize in the International Leonid Kogan Competition (Brussels), the Jeunesses Musicales Award (Spain) and the Grand Prix in the International Luigi Zanuccoli Competition (Italy).

María Dueñas has already debuted in the Golden Hall of the Vienna Musikverein under the baton of Jack Martin Händler and the Bruno Walter Symphony Orchestra, the Granada Symphony Orchestra and Andrea Marcon or the German String Orchestra and the Dresdner Chamber Orchestra with Wolfgang Hentrich. María Dueñas will debut in the coming season with the Lahti Symphony Orchestra and Maestro Dima Slobodeniouk and the Dresdner Philharmonic Orchestra under Maestro Marek Janowski. María Dueñas has been a guest in important Festivals such as Verbier, Mecklenburn-Vorpommern (Germany) or the Granada International Music Festival (Spain).


I round
J. S. Bach. Prelude from Partita No. 3 for Violin Solo in E major, BWV 1006
N. Paganini. Caprice No. 5, A minor, Op.1
W. A. Mozart. Violin Concerto No. 4, D major, KV 218. 1st mvt (with own María’s Dueñas cadenza)

II round
J. Brahms. Violin Sonata No. 3 in D minor, Op. 108
M. Ravel. Tzigane, Concert rhapsody for Violin and Orchestra
W. Lutoslawski. Subito for Violin and Piano

III round
N. Paganini. Violin Concerto No. 1 in D major, Op. 6